Ho Chi Minh City: War Remnants Museum.

Standard

“No event in American history is more misunderstood than the Vietnam War. It was misreported then, and it is misremembered now” – Nixon. 

 

This quote stood out to me for a number of reasons. Firstly, being European and under thirty I don’t actually know a lot about the Vietnam war. Of course I’ve seen Apocalypse Now and Platoon but that’s all the information I’ve ever really learn’t.

Another reason for the quote is that I’ve read some of the information presented at the War Remnants Museum to be sensationalist, or overindulgent; to use phrases that sound nicer than propaganda. I’m no scholar on war history so I’ve no idea what is true…

Propaganda however, is one of the reasons I wanted to take a look.

I love propaganda art, so I was really happy to find a great ‘arts’ section, which was sadly lacking at the Military museum in Hanoi. Another area of the museum I loved – which conveniently links in with the aforementioned quote – was the focus on the photographers involved in reporting the war. It was interesting to learn about characters such as Larry Burrows, Henry Huet, Sam Castan and Dickey Chappelle, who was one of the first Female war correspondents. It seems like such a dangerously captivating profession, with fantastic photography and unfortunately an extremely high mortality rate.  All of the above, and many more featured died chasing photos.

 

Other disturbingly graphic and quite upsetting exhibits included photographic tours of the results of Agent Orange and Landmines. No holding back involved.

Aside from the dubious factual content,  it’s a good museum and it was cheap, 15’000 Dong (less than $1USD)  Also, I got to sit in a helicopter and pretend I was a pilot – childhood dream? Tick!

*

If you liked this, please share it with your Facebook friends, or via Twitter. You can also ‘follow us’ using the box at the top of the page. 

 

 

One thought on “Ho Chi Minh City: War Remnants Museum.

Leave a Reply

